big star "third sister lovers" 1978

I was first introduced to Big Star unknowingly via the gorgeous (though admittedly lugubrious) covers of “Kangaroo” and “Holocaust” done on the first This Mortal Coil album. I was 14 (the year was 1988) when I discovered that album, and being immersed in late 70s and 80s new wave and goth and all that 4ad stuff, I hadn’t a clue nor a care about who the hell Alex Chilton was. All I knew was that these were beautiful covers of songs I naively presumed to be dated folk or something, and that these covers must have improved greatly upon the obscure originals.

Esta entrada foi publicada em 70's, big star. ligação permanente.

Deixe uma Resposta

